SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2015 WEEK #3

Questions of the week from the  weekly blogging challenge “Share your world

 

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

Assuming that my  guest does not have to be currently  alive, either Elizabeth Blackwell or Rachel Carson.  Blackwell was the first US woman to complete medical school, who entered medical school after hearing her her female friends discuss how difficult it could be to talk about all of their health concerns with a male doctor.   Carson wrote Silent Spring in the early 1960s, based on  research showing herbicides and other pesticides widely used in agriculture have environmental risks.  both of them were rather quiet, reserved women (not spotlight seekers!) who saw a major need that was not being met, and decided that they would have to fill that need.  And it was challenging for both,both of them were threatened by people who didn’t like what they were doing.  I admire their courage.

Now, what would I feed either of them?   . . . .

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

Not sure, but I do know that I am more likely to sing (alone) when I am not stressed.  I do’t sing to other people.

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

My first thought was courage / the ability to stand up for beliefs with ease in the face of opposition (see question 1),  but actually I think I would put equanimity even higher on the list.  Calmly moving forward in my life, without living in anxiety.  that’s what I would really want.  My own life would be smother, and I think I could do more of benefit in my relationships/ my community /  my job

What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

I feel more offended by certain tones / attitudes taken by jokers than by actual what should and should not be joked about.  for example, there’s a huge difference in self-deprecating humor and in humor based on contempt for another person or another group.

Having said that, there are:

  • certain jokes about mental health
  • jokes with a strong underpinning of violence
  • jokes that are based on the assumption that all Muslims are TERRORISTS and should be done in before they do all the rest of us in

that really get my hackles up.

 

3 thoughts on “SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2015 WEEK #3

  1. For some reasons, your first answer was something I needed to read today. So inspiring. Also, I can relate to the third one. Inner peace, first on list.
    I like the person reflected in these answers. Wishing you peace and best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

